Skip to content

preparing a place

30 June 2012
tags: ,

there are several housekeeping duties that i regularly perform without feeling any particular dread or disgust. i don’t mind doing the dishes or picking up our bedroom. i frequently sweep the floor, organize our office, and straighten things up after the neighbor kids come to play. but there is one chore i can hardly endure: mopping.

in the States, mopping is usually reserved for the kitchen and maybe a few other small tiled spaces. my entire house has tile floors. granted, my house isn’t that big, but the whole thing has to be mopped!

the “nook” where the kids play, before our house had furniture.

i have determined that the only way i can get through it is if i mentally break down my house into “rooms.” first, i’ll clean the living room & then i’ll mop it. then i’ll clean the “nook” (where the kids play) & mop it. then i’ll clean our bedroom & mop it, etc etc.

today, while mopping (i was forced to it because we have guests coming to stay with us) a long-lost memory verse came to mind: “My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.” how do you suppose Jesus is preparing a place for us? i hope he doesn’t have to mop!

{speaking of long-lost memory verses, i’m planning to join this scripture memory challenge over at Intentional by Grace during July  in hopes that Bible verses will continue to be on my mind throughout the day, even while doing detested chores… will you join us?}

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 July 2012 11:24

    I love how you are incorporated scripture into your day! I dread mopping too…although, from the sounds of things, I’m glad I live in the States. 🙂 Thanks for sharing our challenge!

Trackbacks

  1. funky fresh kitchen challenge #1 « one is silver

Leave a Reply

